The Work Beyond

Barande believes his life is the extension of a death that has already occurred and that his works are the remnants of a previous existence, leading to the creation of a world of miniature forms and figures as well as monumental canvases situated between abstraction and figuration.

As David Galloway writes: “The tomb comprised the most central sign, symbol and metaphor in the artist’s philosophy… a pure, transfigured space where time itself is transfigured. A unique destination that accommodates all the entities of the world and their objects, in order to dismantle them. An ‘elsewhere’ conceived as a heaven for objects, where they associate freely and their combination is no longer fragmentary, but a natural state.

“The objects have one aspect in common: what holds them together can also separate them, exclude them, or make them harmonise with each other. They have an infinite number of combinations.”

For 50 years, Barande kept his work private. He finally accepted to show a collection organised in diptychs for the first time at Mamco, in Geneva, in 2008. He renewed the experience with the exhibition Nice to be Dead at the École des Beaux-Arts de Paris in 2011. The American curator and critic David Galloway persuaded him to organise a more ambitious show, and a large collection of paintings was exhibited under the title The Work Beyond at the Saatchi Gallery in London in 2016.

The Work Beyond is the subject of this catalogue, which shows more than 200 sculptures and paintings. Here, the amazing breadth and sequential nature of Barande’s work is reflected in the book’s design: each of the book’s 4,000 copies features a unique combination of elements derived from Barande’s paintings on the cover.

30,00Add to cart

English edition

236 colour reproductions

304 pages

23 × 27.4 × 3.2 cm

Softcover

Published on 07/12/2018

ISBN : 978-1-86154-382-0

Graphic designer: Christoph Stolberg & Schultzschultz

The Work Beyond

Henri Barande pense que sa vie est le prolongement d’une mort déjà survenue et que son œuvre est la version survivante d’une existence antérieure, conduisant à la création d’un monde de formes et de figures miniatures ainsi que de toiles monumentales jouant de la dialectique entre l’abstraction et la figuration.

Comme l’écrit David Galloway : « Les tombeaux constituent le signe, le symbole et le fondement même du travail et de la pensée de l’artiste. Par la métaphore de ces tombeaux, Henri Barande est à la recherche d’un lieu pur où le temps se transfigure en espace, d’une destination sans mémoire qui accueille pour les défaire, les totalités du monde, d’un “ailleurs” où les objets s‘associent librement, où leur totalité n’est plus fragment, mais état naturel. »
« Dès lors, nous dit l’artiste, les objets s’y assemblent dans ce seul rapport : ce qui les tient ensemble peut tout autant les délier, les exclure ou les faire entrer en résonance. Le nombre de leurs combinaisons est infinie ».

Henri Barande a longtemps refusé de montrer son travail. Il accepte finalement d’exposer un premier ensemble d’œuvres organisées en diptyques au Mamco, à Genève, en 2008. Il renouvelle l’expérience en 2011, à l’Ecole des Beaux-Arts de Paris, sous le titre Nice to be Dead. Le conservateur et critique américain David Galloway le persuade d’organiser une présentation plus ambitieuse. Un grand ensemble de peintures est ainsi montré en 2016 à la Saatchi Gallery à Londres, sous le titre The Work Beyond, dont ce livre est la restitution.

Ce catalogue montre plus de deux cents sculptures et peintures. Sa conception même reflète l’étonnante ampleur et la nature séquentielle du travail de l’artiste : la combinaison des éléments composant la couverture est différente pour chaque exemplaire. Chaque livre est ainsi unique.

30,00Ajouter au panier

236 reproductions couleur

304 pages

23 × 27.4 × 3.2 cm

Couverture intégra

English edition

Paru le 07/12/2018

ISBN : 978-1-86154-382-0

Graphiste : Christoph Stolberg & Schultzschultz