Fata Morgana

Published on the occasion of the Jeu de Paume Festival, combining exhibition, live performance and cultural events, Fata Morgana offers a critical and poetic reflection on the modalities of the visible, which are often more unstable and ambiguous than would appear.

The title refers to the extraordinary optical phenomenon known as fata morgana, which is caused by a combination of mirages on the surface of the sea or ocean, in which the refraction of light in the atmosphere causes the misshapen reflections of boats, houses, entire cities and even coastlines to appear suspended above the horizon line. The experience of fata morgana, rare and fleeting, captivating and troubling, is used here as a metaphor for the relationship between image, material reality and perception, each appearance serving as a new opportunity to learn how to look. The quest for meaning initiated by the spectacle of the natural mirage recalls the one offered by the artwork, rooted in the here and now and yet always also situated elsewhere. More than a theme or a movement, this book offers a certain quality of attention to the sensory world, part astonishment and part decipherment It focuses on the featured works, which are accompanied by illuminating analytical commentaries.

In addition to being an exhibition catalog, it is also a collective artist’s book, the artists having been invited to propose an original contribution that resonates with the project’s central theme. The volume is enriched by a curatorial essay by Béatrice Gross, a poetic text by Katinka Bock and a literary text by Clara Schulmann based on interviews with the artists in the festival.

Edited by Béatrice Gross, with Katinka Bock.

39,00Add to cart

English edition

Preface: Quentin Bajac

Texts by Béatrice Gross, Katinka Bock, Clara Schulmann

With works by Béatrice Balcou, Nina Beier, Julien Bismuth, Antoine Catala, June Crespo, Jason Dodge, Ellie Ga, Marina Gadonneix, Rachel Harrison, Ilanit Illouz, Ann Veronica Janssens, Lenio Kaklea, Euridice Zaituna Kala, Özgür Kar, Raphaël Lecoquierre, Jochen Lempert, David Levine, Tala Madani, Diane Severin Nguyen, Constance Nouvel, B. Ingrid Olson, Christine Rebet, Sébastien Roux, Stéphanie Solinas, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Batia Suter

215 colour reproductions

37 black-and-white reproductions

292 pages

17 × 24 × 2.2 cm

Softcover

Published on 17/03/2022

ISBN : 978-2-490505-37-1

Graphic designer: Atelier Pierre Pierre, Manon Bruet

 

Published in coproduction with Jeu de Paume Museum

Fata Morgana

Édité à l’occasion du festival du Jeu de Paume associant exposition, événements culturels et spectacles vivants, Fata Morgana déploie une réflexion critique et poétique sur les modalités d’apparition du visible, souvent plus instables et ambiguës qu’il n’y paraît.

Son titre fait référence au phénomène optique exceptionnel de la fata morgana, provoqué par la combinaison de mirages à la surface de la mer ou de l’océan : la réfraction de la lumière à travers l’atmosphère fait émerger en suspension, au-dessus de la ligne d’horizon, les reflets déformés de bateaux, de maisons, de villes entières ou encore de lignes de côte. L’expérience de la fata morgana, rare et éphémère, captivante et déroutante, est adoptée ici comme métaphore de la relation entre image, réalité sensible et perception, dont chaque surgissement est l’occasion d’un apprentissage renouvelé du regard. La quête de sens déclenchée par le spectacle de l’illusion naturelle rappelle celle que propose l’œuvre d’art, donnée ici et maintenant et pourtant située aussi toujours ailleurs. Plus qu’un thème ou un mouvement, c’est ainsi une certaine qualité d’attention au monde sensible, entre émerveillement et décryptage, que propose cette publication qui fait la part belle aux œuvres, qu’éclairent des notices analytiques.

Au-delà du catalogue d’exposition, il s’agit aussi d’un livre d’artiste collectif, les artistes ayant été invité·e·s à y proposer une contribution originale en résonance avec le thème du projet. Un essai curatorial de Béatrice Gross, un texte poétique de Katinka Bock et un texte littéraire de Clara Schulmann nourri d’entretiens avec les artistes viennent enrichir ce volume.

Sous la direction de Béatrice Gross, avec Katinka Bock.

39,00Ajouter au panier

Préface : Quentin Bajac

Textes de Béatrice Gross, Katinka Bock, Clara Schulmann

Avec des œuvres de Béatrice Balcou, Nina Beier, Julien Bismuth, Antoine Catala, June Crespo, Jason Dodge, Ellie Ga, Marina Gadonneix, Rachel Harrison, Ilanit Illouz, Ann Veronica Janssens, Lenio Kaklea, Euridice Zaituna Kala, Özgür Kar, Raphaël Lecoquierre, Jochen Lempert, David Levine, Tala Madani, Diane Severin Nguyen, Constance Nouvel, B. Ingrid Olson, Christine Rebet, Sébastien Roux, Stéphanie Solinas, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Batia Suter

215 reproductions couleur

37 reproductions noir et blanc

292 pages

17 × 24 × 2.2 cm

Couverture brochée

Paru le 17/03/2022

ISBN : 978-2-490505-35-7

Graphiste : Atelier Pierre Pierre, Manon Bruet

 

Ouvrage publié en coédition avec le Jeu de Paume